2017 Winners

2017 Excellence Awards Winners

Congratulations to all of the nominees and winners at this year's Excellence Awards, held at the InterContinental Hotel, Dublin on 10th November. Below is a list of this year's winners:

Engineering Project of the Year Award, sponsored by Transport Infrastructure Ireland
Redevelopment of Páirc Uí Chaoimh and Centre of Excellence, by Malachy Walsh and Partners

Outstanding Contribution to Engineering Award, sponsored by ESB
Professor John Kelly, Former Dean of the Faculty of Engineering at UCD

International Engineer of the Year Award, sponsored by ESB International
Aidan Madden, Chartered Engineer, ARUP

Chartered Engineer of the Year Award, sponsored by Arup
Captain Eoghan Carton, Engineer Officer, Irish Defence Forces

Geoscience Ireland Award, sponsored by Geoscience Ireland
UMASW by APEX Geoservices Ltd and School of Civil Engineering, University College Dublin

Best Presentation Award, sponsored by Beale & Company and Griffiths & Armour
Prof. William Gerard Hurley, Professor of Electrical Engineering at NUI Galway and Director of the Power Electronics Research Centre

Local Authority Engineering Initiative Award, sponsored by Cold Chon (Galway) Ltd
Joint winners
South Campshire Flood Protection Project, by Dublin City Council and the Office of Public Works

Limerick Smarter Travel Route 2 Shared Walking and Cycling Facility, by Limerick City and County Council, WSP/Punch Consulting (JV) and John Cradock Ltd

Technical Innovation of the Year Award, sponsored by NSAI
Development of SolarWhite, a new coating for high performance satellite thermal control, by ENBIO Ltd and University College Dublin School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering

Heritage and Conservation Award, sponsored by the Office of Public Works
National Gallery of Ireland Historical Wings Restoration and Refurbishment Project by PUNCH Consulting Engineers

President’s Award, sponsored by CRH
Murt Coleman, Fellow of Engineers Ireland

Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Employer of the Year Award, supported by the Department of Education and Skills and sponsored by Enterprise Ireland and IDA Ireland
Johnson & Johnson Campus Ireland

Innovative Student Engineer of the Year Award, sponsored by Siemens
Aron Purser, IT Carlow

Engineering Education Award - Best in Class 2017
Creating Holistic Engineers to Solve the Grand Challenges of the Future by the College of Engineering and Built Environment, Dublin Institute of Technology

Read more about the 2017 Excellence Awards