2018 Winners and Shortlist

2018 Excellence Awards Winners and Shortlist

Congratulations to all of the nominees and winners at 2018  Excellence Awards, held at the InterContinental Hotel, Dublin on  9th November. Below is a list of of winners and those shortlisted in 2018.

President’s Award, sponsored by CRH

David Porter, Chartered Engineer, Divisional Roads Manager with the Northern Ireland Department for Infrastructure. 

Best Presentation Award, sponsored by Beale and Company and Griffiths and Armour


Pictured: Eddie Phelan, representing Liam Coleman at the Excellence Awards ceremony. 
Structures Asset Management on Auckland's Motorways 
Presented by: Liam Coleman, Chartered Engineer, Principal Bridge Engineer at OPUS International Consultancy
Nominated by: The Structures and Construction division
Industry in Our Region - Lufthansa Technik Turbine Shannon 
Presented by: Barry Lowe, Chartered Engineer, Engineering Manager at Lufthansa Technik Shannon 
Nominated by: The Thomond region
Earthworks Classification and Ground Improvement Techniques
Presented by: Conor O’Donnell, Chartered Engineer, Managing Director, AGL Consulting Nominated by: The Roads and Transportation society

Geoscience Ireland Award, sponsored by Geoscience Ireland

Northern Spire Bridge by Roughan & O’Donovan; Buro Happold; Farrans Construction; Victor Buyck Joint Venture; Quinn Piling; and Fugro-Loadtest
  • Ballygaddy Bridge - Bespoke Treatment of Karst Features by Barry Transportation
  • TAGS by Gavin and Doherty Geosolutions
  • The National CFRAM Programme by The Office of Public Works, with support from Jacobs Engineering Ireland, JBA Consulting, Mott MacDonald and RPS
  • Post Impact Assessment of KS Endeavour Rig Blowout by Verde Environmental Group

Heritage and Conservation Award, sponsored by the OPW

Aran Sweater Market – Galway by TOBIN Consulting Engineers and Architectural Conservation Professionals
  • Refurbishment and Remodelling of Clones Market House by Monaghan County Council
  • Refurbishment and Extension of Adare Manor, Co. Limerick by Punch Consulting Engineers
  • National Famine Commemoration Sod Cabin by University College Cork

Local Authority Engineering Initiative Award, sponsored by Colas Bitumen Emulsions

Wicklow-County-Council.jpg Leitrim-County-Council-and-Jennings.jpg
  • Lough Rinn International Rowing and Canoe Course Project by Leitrim County Council and Jennings O'Donovan & Partners Limited
  • River Dargle Flood Defence Scheme by Wicklow County Council
  • Monkstown Village Improvement Scheme by DĂșn Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council and Atkins
  • Returning Vacant Homes to use for Social Tenants by Louth County Council
  • Greystones South Beach Playground by Wicklow County Council, Greystones South Beach Playground committee and All Play

ESB Outstanding Contribution to Engineering Award, sponsored by ESB

Eoghan Lynch, Chartered Engineer, Chairman of Arup Ireland

ESB International Engineer of the Year Award, sponsored by ESB International

Siobhan Kennedy, Chartered Engineer, Recovery Advisor, Housing Recovery and Reconstruction Platform, Nepal

Technical Innovation of the Year Award, sponsored by NSAI

Design-Driven Innovation: Combined Sewer Interceptor Physical Model Test-Bed Project by Ward and Burke Construction Ltd and the National University of Ireland, Galway
Development of Stevie: A Socially Assistive Robot developed to provide support for older adults by Dr. Conor McGinn and the Robotics and Innovation Lab (RAIL) at Trinity College Dublin

Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Employer of the Year Award, sponsored by Enterprise Ireland, IDA Ireland and supported by the Department of Education and Skills

Lufthansa Technik Turbine Shannon

Chartered Engineer of the Year Award, sponsored by Arup

Aoife Murphy, Chartered Engineer 
Project title: Earthquake: The Silver Lining - An Opportunity in a Time of Disaster
  • Dr. Julie Clarke, Chartered Engineer 
Project title: INFRARISK - Novel indicators for identifying critical INFRAstructure at RISK from natural hazards
  • Hugh Cunningham, Chartered Engineer
Project title: Harnessing Digital Technology and Innovative Design Standardisation in ESB
  • Katie Higgins, Chartered Engineer
Project title: A Risk Assessment Tool to Plan and Implement Drinking Water Safety Plan Upgrades for Major UK Water Utility
  • Captain John Murphy, Chartered Engineer
Project title: Engineering for the Irish Army Ranger Wing: Engineering Solutions to increase the Operational Capability of Ireland’s Special Operations Forces Unit, the Army Ranger Wing
  • Mahnaz Rashedi, Chartered Engineer 
Project title: Control System Design for Milk Process Plant in Lakeland Dairies

Engineering Project of the Year Award, sponsored by Transport Infrastructure Ireland

Kerry Central Regional Water Supply Scheme by Irish Water, in association with Kerry County Council, Nicholas O'Dwyer, TOBIN Consulting Engineers and Glan Agua
  • Kevin Street Garda Headquarters by Atkins
  • M17/M18 Gort to Tuam Motorway PPP by Barry Transportation and Arup
  • Northern Spire Bridge by Roughan & O'Donovan, Buro Happold, Farrans Construction and Victor Buyck
  • Shannon Airport Rehabilitation of Runway 06-24 by RPS
  • BXD 400 - Luas Cross City by Sisk Steconfer JV