Ireland's National Building Information Modelling (BIM) Council

Ireland's National Building Information Modelling (BIM) Council

20 June 2016 at 10:17

On Wednesday 15th June 2016, Ireland’s National Building Information Modelling Council was formed. The council is composed of nine members working in partnership with both the public and private sector and represents clients of construction and the industry supply chain. The purpose of the new Council is to support the advancement of digital technology in the construction sector. The Council is chaired by Engineers Ireland’s Director General Caroline Spillane.

For more detail see:

The Council was formed from a recommendation in Enterprise Irelands 2014 National Building Information Modelling Forum and is a key measure in fulfilling the Government’s national “Construction 2020” strategy.

The first national survey (October 2015) to benchmark the level of Building Information Modelling adoption across the Architects, Engineers, and Contractors (AEC) of Ireland revealed that 67% of the industry sample possessed confidence in their skills and knowledge to deliver BIM. While only 6% reported no confidence the remaining 27% reported a general knowledge of BIM and a gradual improvement in BIM skills. 75% of the sample reported an increase in demand for BIM in Ireland.

The council recognises the role technology and information management has in improving productivity, competitiveness and collaboration. The aim is to identify opportunities that allow the industry to move towards a less labour intensive process and is facilitated through a stronger data rich environment. This would allow for a greater diversity of high quality jobs in the construction sector in the near future.

The council is composed of the following nine members:

  • Ms Caroline Spillane (Chair) - Engineers Ireland
  • Mr Tom Costello - Irish Property Unit Trust (IPUT)         
  • Mr Damian Duffy - National Development Finance Agency (NDFA)
  • Mr David O’Brien - Office of Government Procurement (OGP)  
  • Mr Gerard Bourke - Office of Public Works (OPW)
  • Mr Noel Kennedy - Intel Corporation
  • Mr Sean Downey - Construction Industry Federation (CIF)
  • Mr Ralph Montague - CitA BIM Group
  • Mr John Hunt - Enterprise Ireland
  • Dr Alan Hore (Secretariat) - DiT/CitA