Engineers Ireland Excellence Awards 2018


Engineers Ireland is delighted to announce the winners of the Engineers Ireland Excellence Awards 2018. The awards, held in association with ESB,  are presented annually in recognition of the achievements of engineers who have demonstrated exceptional engineering skills through their work. 


Engineers Ireland Excellence Awards Winners


Engineering Project of the Year, sponsored by Transport Infrastructure Ireland

Kerry Central Regional Water Supply Scheme by Irish Water, in association with Kerry County Council, Nicholas O'Dwyer, TOBIN Consulting Engineers and Glan Agua.

Geoscience Ireland Award, sponsored by Geoscience Ireland      

Northern Spire Bridge by Roughan and O’Donovan; Farrans Victor Buyck Joint Venture; Quinn Piling; and Fugro-Loadtest

Local Authority Engineering Initiative Award, sponsored by Colas Bitumen Emulsion 

  • Lough Rinn International Rowing and Canoe Course Project by Leitrim County Council and Jennings O'Donovan & Partners Limited

  • River Dargle Flood Defence Scheme by Wicklow County Council

Technical Innovation of the Year Award

Design-Driven Innovation: Combined Sewer Interceptor Physical Model Test-Bed Project by Ward and Burke Construction Ltd and the National University of Ireland, Galway

Heritage and Conservation Award, sponsored by the OPW

Aran Sweater Market – Galway by TOBIN Consulting Engineers and Architectural Conservation Professionals (ACP)

Chartered Engineer of the Year Award, sponsored by Arup

Aoife Murphy, David Kelly Partnership

Best Presentation Award, co-sponsored by Griffiths & Armour and Beale & Company

Liam Coleman, Chartered Engineer, Principal Bridge Engineer at OPUS International Consultancy  

ESB International Engineer of the Year Award, sponsored by ESB International

Siobhan Kennedy, Chartered Engineer, Recovery Advisor, Housing Recovery and Reconstruction Platform, Nepal

ESB Outstanding Contribution to Engineering Award

Eoghan Lynch, Chartered Engineer, Chairman of Arup Ireland

Innovative Student Engineer of the Year Award, sponsored by Siemens

Group winners: Kevin Hayes, Muireann Hickey, Cian O'Leary and Jonathan Mullane of Cork Institute of Technology for their mobility enablement device, StrydeTech

CPD Employer of the Year Award, sponsored by Enterprise Ireland and IDA Ireland

Lufthansa Technik Turbine Shannon

President's Award, sponsored by CRH

David Porter, Chartered Engineer, Divisional Roads Manager with the Northern Ireland Department for Infrastructure